Book Review

This isn’t typical for a food blog, but I would like to take the time to review a book here. It is a cookbook of sorts, but it is also one of the most touching memoirs I have ever read. If you’re not involved in the food blog world you may not have heard of it, the book I am referring to is A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg, creator of the beautiful Orangette.

I really don’t have any critiques for this book, it really did have me at ‘hello’. Molly ends her introduction by saying “In the simple acts of cooking and eating, we are creating and continuing the stories that are our lives.” This sentence nearly brought me to tears because it sums up, as closely as I have ever been able to, my feelings about why I love cooking and food.

More than just beautiful writing, this book is chock-full of amazing sounding recipes, many of which I hope to cook and (if I can get my act together enough) post here on this blog. If you haven’t read this book and you have time to please consider it. If you know me in real life I will be more than willing to lend it to you!

Leave a Reply

