Pineapple-Black Bean Enchiladas with Tomatillo-Basil Green Sauce

3711436505_d62739f6a9_o

‘What an odd recipe!’ you might be thinking to yourself. Well, despite an odd name this dish is delicious. ‘But why pineapple and basil?’ you may ask. Foodie Fights! I would reply. Yes everyone, my very first blogging competition!

3711384569_560a7c4fff_o

As I’ve already proven on this blog, I love enchiladas, and although it was not the first dish my mind jumped to for the competition they turned out better than I could have expected. I have been wanting to try making green enchiladas for a while and basil seemed like the perfect way to make the sauce extra green! Sadly, of course, I wasn’t thinking when I added chili powder to the sauce, so it’s not really that green, but the lightness and spice of a green enchilada sauce is there, and this time it has the added flavor of basil. Although I was a little nervous about just throwing basil in willy-nilly it really did upgrade enchiladas to a summer dish and it complemented the sauce really well.

3711406007_fd832a3dfb_o

And that other ingredient, pineapple? Well, you wouldn’t normally put pineapple in enchiladas either, but when my dear friend Sarah swore by a recipe for pineapple-black bean enchiladas I knew I had a match made in heaven. Enchiladas are sometimes a time-consuming dish to make, but they aren’t difficult. The flavor combination of the black beans, pineapple, red pepper, and onion was delicious, the softness of everything and the combining flavors of the peppers, onion, and pineapple together was really surprisingly wonderful, especially when compared to the bright flavor of the sauce.

3712234856_a61d79de10_o

The sauce does take some time to make, but you could make it on a weekend and refrigerate or even freeze it until needed. Green sauces keep color really well if/when frozen, so both the tomatillos and basil would maintain their lovely verdant appeal even if you made the sauce in advance.

3712201140_dc1d6810de_o

Pineapple-Black Bean Enchiladas with Tomatillo-Basil Green Sauce
adapted from here and here

Ingredients

Green Enchilada Sauce
1 pound peeled and washed tomatillos
1 medium white onion (coarsely chopped)
1/4 cup olive oil
4-6 cloves garlic (minced)
1 1/2 teaspoon cumin
1 tablespoon mild chili powder (next time I would use spicy roasted chiles to achieve spice and maintain green color)
1 4oz can diced green chilies
4 cups chicken broth
1/2 cup packed basil leaves

Pineapple-Black Bean Enchiladas
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 large yellow onion (chopped)
1 medium red bell pepper (chopped)
1 medium pineapple (peeled and finely diced)
1 15oz can black beans (drained)
1 4oz can chopped green chiles
8 whole wheat flour tortillas (taco size)
3 cups shredded Monterey Jack or Pepper Jack cheese
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro/basil mixture (for garnish)
1/2 cup reduced-fat sour cream (for garnish)

Method

Sauce
In a medium sauce pan over medium heat, place the olive oil, onions and garlic and cook until soft. Add the broth, tomatillos, cumin, chili powder (or spicy roasted chilies) and green chilies and bring to a boil.

Reduce heat to a simmer and cover, continue cooking until the tomatillos are soft (about 30 minutes). Cool until room temperature. At this point, you may refrigerate sauce for later or freeze. When ready, process sauce with blender, food processor, or with an immersion blender. Right when you are about the blend the sauce add the basil leaves and blend sauce until smooth.

Enchiladas
Preheat oven to 350°F.

Remove the edible flesh from the pineapple and dice it fine. To this bowl add the black beans and green chilies. Let the flavors meld while you dice the onion and pepper.

Saute the onion and pepper with the oil in a medium skillet over medium heat until they are tender and the onion is translucent. Add the onion/pepper mix to the pineapple/black bean mixture.

Assembly
Pour a small amount of sauce into the bottom of a 13×9 baking dish so that the enchiladas don’t stick to the bottom of the pan. Taking your tortillas one at a time, dip them in the remaining sauce, spoon them full of the pineapple/black bean filling, roll it up, and place it seam side down into the pan. Repeat until pan is full. Pour enough remaining sauce into the pan to submerge the enchiladas. Top with shredded cheese and bake for 30 minutes or until bubbly. Garnish with sour cream, fresh cilantro or basil, lime wedges, or whatever else you’d like!

Enjoy!

The Foodie Fights Competition has begun! Vote below!

Who Won Battle Pineapple Basil?(surveys)

8 responses to “Pineapple-Black Bean Enchiladas with Tomatillo-Basil Green Sauce

  1. Ahhh!!! these look SO delicious!! Did you like them? Isn’t it weird how good pineapple tastes in a savory dish like this? Yay I am so happy you made these!

  2. Well, now I just want one. And lucky for me – Alex left some in my refrigerator! Off I go!

  3. Sadly I am going to be on a vegan diet for the next week (see my facebook profile). But definitely I need to look back at this recipe if for no other reason than to cook for a friend/family member to enjoy.

  4. I already frequently make green sauces for my enchiladas, though I hadn’t tried basil. But pineapple? It’s certainly an interesting use, and while it took me awhile to wrap my head around how such a thing might taste, I think these look delicious.

  5. Ok, so I hate black beans, cooked veggies, pineapple, and pretty much food in general but these were so amazingly tasty, Alex. I’m so glad I have a nice kitchen for you to cook in and leave left overs… mmm

  6. Enchiladas!! I never even thought of making those though the sound great. That’s what I love about this competition. Everyone has so many wonderful ideas about what to do with the same ingredients.

  7. i too love enchiladas but you made me realize that we dont make them enough! maybe tonight… :)

    good job on the foodiefight, your dish looks/sounds really tasty!

  8. Sorry about the outcome, I thought yours looked best, though I must be more partial to tomatillos than the judges. Or enchiladas.

Leave a Reply

